Resetting respondent session

As stated in the previous article, the Maintain respondent session setting allows you to control whether the same response session is maintained when the respondent fills in the questionnaire in multiple session on the same device or not. To make sure that Maptionnaire can be adapted to different projects and needs, there is also the possibility to use a "reset" link to reset the session, even if the Maintain respondent session setting is on. When a questionnaire is reset, a new respondent ID is created in the results and the new respondent will see an empty questionnaire.

You can create a reset link by adding the ending ?reset=true to the questionnaire URL. For example, if your questionnaire URL was 

https://new.maptionnaire.com/q/qwertyzxcvb

you could create a reset link by adding ?reset=true to the end:

https://new.maptionnaire.com/q/qwertyzxcvb?reset=true

This may be useful if your questionnaire is being filled in both by independent respondents and in sessions where the same device is used by multiple respondents, e.g. workshops.  The main difference between using Maintain respondent session and the reset link function is in how Maptionnaire behaves when the respondent loads the page:

 Setting combination   First page load   Later page reload 
 Maintain respondent session on + reset link   New respondent   Existing respondent 
 Maintain respondent session off + reset link   New respondent   New respondent 
 Maintain respondent session on + normal link   Existing respondent   Existing respondent 
 Maintain respondent session off + normal link   New respondent   New respondent 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.