Publish your questionnaire

CHANGES TO TESTING AND PUBLISHING SURVEYS THAT APPLY TO SURVEYS CREATED AFTER JUNE 24, 2024

All surveys made after June 24, 2024 can be published first in test mode.

When a survey is published in test mode:

  • You will see only the five latest respondents’ data in the analysis tool
  • You can still edit it and activate changes by re-publishing
  • The test period results are automatically separated from your actual data

Publish in test mode:

  1. Go to Publish.

    Screenshot 2024-06-24 at 4.27.19 PM.png

  2. Select Publish for testing.

    Screenshot 2024-06-24 at 4.26.36 PM.png

  3. Click the Publish button.

When a survey is published for data collection:

When you are ready to start real data collection, publish it for the final time. Please note that once you publish the final version, you should no longer edit your survey or publish it again.

Publish a final version for data collection:

  1. Go to Publish.

    Screenshot 2024-06-24 at 4.27.19 PM.png

  2. Select Publish final version for data collection.

    Screenshot 2024-06-24 at 4.27.07 PM.png

  3. Click the Publish final version button.

What happens if I re-publish a survey that has been published as the final version?

If you re-publish a final version of a survey, be prepared that the analysis of results will be slightly more difficult. The Excel results file now contains the responses of one publication version only, so if you have published the final version twice, you have to be prepared to merge two Excel files.

 

SURVEYS CREATED BEFORE JUNE 25, 2024

  1. Go to Publish.

  2. Click the Publish button.

  3. Confirm that you want to publish the survey.

You can still make changes such as typo corrections to your questionnaire even after publication — but remember to re-publish it every time so that the changes are activated. Re-publishing happens in the same way as publishing for the first time. It won't affect your data or the URL of the survey.

However, if you make larger changes, such as deleting questions and adding new ones, it may be a good idea to create a copy of the survey (select the survey > Actions > Copy) and make the changes there.

Once published, you can distribute the survey link to test respondents for testing. To read about how to separate test data from the actual response data, click here

Before you send the survey to respondents, remember to go through this checklist!

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Before publishing my questionnaire, I would like to show it to people who are not in my Maptionnaire team. Can I share a link to the preview version?

Unfortunately, it is not possible to share the preview of a questionnaire with anyone not in your Maptionnaire team. However, you can easily do this by publishing your questionnaire in test mode and sharing the link to that.

I'm testing my questionnaire in preview mode but any map points I place don't seem to be saved, instead the system seems to be stuck on loading the point forever. Is this a bug?

No, as currently the preview mode is meant only to test how the questionnaire looks like visually rather than to test the actual responding function. Once you have published your questionnaire in test mode, you can test responding to the questionnaire.

I've made some changes to my questionnaire that's published in test mode, but they don't appear on the questionnaire. What's wrong?

Most likely, you have not re-published the questionnaire. If the problem persists even after this, try troubleshooting according to the element-type that is having the issue.

If I re-publish the questionnaire, will the URL (web address, link) be affected? Will the data already collected be affected?

The answer to both questions is no, it won't be affected. Once you have published your questionnaire one time, the URL is stable and remains the same regardless of republishing. Any information collected will also be retained. The only thing that may affect the results is changing the data names or option identifiers after publication, which is why you should not alter these settings after the draft-stage.

Is re-publishing a separate function?

No, you re-publish the survey in exactly the same way you did in the beginning. There is no separate 're-publishing' button.

What happens after the last publication date of my questionnaire (the one you set under the General tab in questionnaire settings) is past? 

After the end date, no one can view the questionnaire or leave responses. 

What if I don't set a start date for my questionnaire?

If you don't set a start date, then your questionnaire is accessible immediately after publication. Setting a start date is in other ways a means to control the visibility of your survey.

How do I close a questionnaire?

If you have set up start and end dates for the survey, you don't need to do anything to close a survey from the public. If you haven't set these dates and would like to still like to close your survey, you can always add the start and end dates at any point (the start date can be in the past) and activate this change by re-publishing.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.